North Valley Community Council Meeting 1/6/2009

7 01 2010

Today’s speaker was Bob McMullin and he was excellent.  After the event he told me that “Fund raising is like prostitution; when you get a good prostitute, s/he makes you feel like they really like you!”  All kidding aside, it was a very insightful discussion and I would love to hear more of what Bob has to say.

One point I meant to get across better to the audience about digital collaboration.  I have been coming to the Council meetings now since Summer 2007.  I was a little late getting settled in there that first meeting and to my surprise a microphone got shoved in my face… I had no idea what the heck I was supposed to say!  So I just spoke from the heart; why I was really there:

“I have a dream,” I said awkwardly.  “…to link all of us together as a community through technology.   Whether your organization prefers email or newsletters, newspapers, websites or whatever, I believe the community is stronger when we collaborate to tell our stories.  When it costs $800 for a quarter page ad in the Sunday newspaper, something has got to change.  My dream is to share our emails and newsletters and websites and all of the printed materials we make and calendared events, in one place where we can talk to a truly engaged constituency, to save money and improve results.”

I passed the microphone and I think the group was mildly stunned if not completely confused.  But the intent of that statement rings truer today than it did that late summer day in 2007.

The economy is in the toilet, cash is hard to come by and an already taxed community is facing increasing cost of living expenses.  So why aren’t more orgs collaborating, if not merging?  Why is Sunshine Kids Club competing for resources with Rainbow of Kids Club?  Why aren’t more orgs teaming up and swapping links to each other’s sites, and swapping newsletter announcements for trade in-kind?  Why can’t we share instead of spend?  Why do we re-invent the wheel instead of hopping on the band wagon?

I didn’t say it pointedly, but in my heart of hearts, why haven’t I been able to compell the local community to collaborate digitally?

Hopefully y’all have some thoughts on the matter.  I look forward to hearing them.  Please leave a comment.  Happy New Year!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

